life in times of the unexpected

because normal is boring

Love Drug

love-writing-in-the-sand

 

Hey people of the Internet. It’s wonderful to write to you guys again.  As always there are so many things which I want to say to  you guys but for this post lets concentrate on one of them. I was reading through some posts recently and it made me think about the different ways people react and understand the concept of love.

To some people love is settling down with someone and compromising on the trials and tribulations that relationships face.Their will to put up with all the bad things and any thing that they don’t like about the other person is their definition of love. Others believe in that instant connection with a person, which can, for lack of a better term can be described as love at first sight or the meeting of soul mates.  There are so many versions of  love that I’ve started to think it’s not the same for everybody. I think that love is something that is more to do with the person because everybody feels things in different ways some with more intensity other with less so how can you really tell if you’re in love or not?

Short answer, you can’t. Since everyone feels love differently there is no sure-fire way to tell whether you are in love or not, but you can tell if you what you are feeling is an infatuation. I tend to follow Jane Austin’s idea on what love is. I think that love isn’t necessarily an instant reaction. I think that if you like someone through the tough times and after you see all their flaws and you still find yourself loving the person (in a non addictive/abusive kind of way) then you can really say that you are in love.

I also tend to side with the people who think that love at first sight is simply a strong attraction to the person but I think tallereven the people who don’t agree with me there will agree on the fact that before you decide that you are madly and totally in love you should take the time to explore your feelings with the person  so that you don’t jump into anything too soon.

To me a soul mate isn’t really one person, they are people in the world that are more compatible with you than others. There are many people who would disagree with me here and for all I know you may be right, and there is a part of me that really it. There is something about the inevitability and the strength of that emotion is strangely attractive, but why is that.

Everyone is, to one degree or the other addicted to love. We want it so much that we sing about it non stop, we make movies about it, we even have an entire dedicated to it. We all want love and some affection in our life but I think the obsession we have about love has more to do with how it is marketed. We are all told that love is the ultimate form of happiness and without it we are never complete so of course we are going to want it.

Don’t get me wrong by saying this I am not telling you that I am not affected by this. I crave love just like the rest of theLost and Confused Signpost world, but as I do this I wonder why? why am I so obsessed with love stories and why do I keep looking up these books which just further cement this idea into my head.

I’m not sure I made any sense here but if you get the gist of what I was saying tell me what you think about love because I’m kinda lost right now.

4 comments on “Love Drug

  1. floodedroses
    April 17, 2013

    Love is confusing…I never know what to make of it, I try to keep it in the back of mind if possible.

  2. TBM
    April 18, 2013

    Don’t worry about being lost. Love is a concept and thing that eludes many of us.

    • saffronmarker
      April 18, 2013

      Well it should come with a guide book, it would certainly make life easier.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

My people

  • 287
April 2013
M T W T F S S
     
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
A Whole Lot of Nothing

Where nothing is everything

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

World Music - the Music Journey

A music journey through the world

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Eagle-Eyed Editor

Making you laugh and learn about writing, editing, social media and more!

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

The New Bullying Prevention

Ethics, Equality and Equal Rights

The Daily Norm

The official blog of Artist and Blogger, Nicholas de Lacy-Brown

Flights, Tights, and Movie Nights

Reviewing every superhero and comic book movie ever made... eventually.

Sleeping On Clouds

Cause I don't know everything yet.

PJ IS BLOGGING!!

My Life. . .

365 And Counting

there's plenty more where the first year came from

the quiet voice

vulnerable thoughts on mental health, society, and life at large

looking and perceiving

The world as I see it.

life in times of the unexpected

because normal is boring

